• Madison County (GA) Journal

Jim Perkins Award Winners Recognized

Five Madison County School System employees were honored by their peers and the community earlier this month as winners of the second annual Jim Perkins Dedication Award.

This year's recipients were: Amy Denman, technology director; Leigh Ann Munro, high school science teacher; Bertha Moon, cook, cashier, after-school supervisor and bus monitor; Donna Smith, middle school math teacher; and Carol Watkins, Ila Elementary special education teacher.

Winners are chosen through nominations by fellow school system employees, parents/guardians and community members. And beginning this year, the former year's winners selected the five award winners. The first year's winners were chosen by members of the Madison County Retired Educators Association and other citizens.

Jim Perkins served the Madison County school system for 38 years, 20 of those years (1978 - 1998) as superintendent of schools.

Current superintendent Dr. Allen McCannon said the board couldn't think of a better person to name an award for service after.

Betty Perkins, wife of the late Mr. Perkins, presented last year's awards, but was unable to attend this year's ceremony due to a fall, McCannon said.


Customer Notice: A title pawn is a 30-day agreement, meant to be a short-term financial solution. However, borrowers often extend these pawns over a period of 2 to 24 months, which can be expensive. Title pawn customers have the option to extend their agreement at the maturity date, on the condition that finance charges have been satisfied for the period.

DISCLOSURE: This is a solicitation for a pawn transaction. This is not a guaranteed offer and requires approval. Amount subject to vehicle evaluation. Results and actual pawn amounts may vary. Certain limitations apply. Please see our FAQ page for more information.